2008 Officers & Committee Members
Conference Venue
Call For Papers / Abstract Submission Information
Conference & Technical Program
Exhibit Information
Conference Registration
Short Courses
Sponsorship & Advertising Opportunities
Ancillary Meeting Request
Related Conferences/Websites


Roger W. Boom Award

The Roger W. Boom Award is named in honor of the emeritus professor from the University of Wisconsin.

Dr. Boom's career spanned more than thirty years during which he motivated a large number of young scientists and engineers to pursue careers in cryogenic engineering and applied superconductivity.
Roger W Boom

This award was created by the CSA to be given to a young professional (under 40 years of age) who "shows promise for making significant contributions to the fields of cryogenic engineering and applied superconductivity." The candidate must be no older than 40 years of age and be employed full-time by a US organization involved in cryogenic engineering or applied superconductivity. The spirit of the R.W. Boom Award is to recognize young people for their pursuit of excellence, demonstration of high standards and clear communications.

The 2008 Roger W. Boom Award is given to Dr. Gregory Nellis, Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department, University of Wisconsin-Madison.

It is given to recognize his outstanding record of accomplishment in the range of cryogenic and refrigeration research and development activities as well as for his important contribution to graduate education in the field, an area which was of keen interest to Professor Boom.
Dr. Gregory Nellis

It will be presented by Dr. Steven Van Sciver, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, Florida State University, a protege of Dr. Boom and chair of the CSA Boom Award committee.




Admin Area

Web Design By: Numatek