2008 Officers & Committee Members
Conference Venue
Call For Papers / Abstract Submission Information
Conference & Technical Program
Exhibit Information
Conference Registration
Short Courses
Sponsorship & Advertising Opportunities
Ancillary Meeting Request
Related Conferences/Websites



The IEEE Council on Superconductivity sponsors the Van Duzer Prize, awarded to the best contributed paper published in IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity during each volume year.

The Van Duzer Prizes for 2006 and 2007 will be presented during the Opening Plenary Session of the Applied Superconductivity Conference starting at 8:00 AM on Monday morning, 18 August 2008.

The award is restricted to regular submissions to the IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity to encourage authors to prepare well written and comprehensive contributions which may have exceptional archival values and are likely to be cited frequently by other authors. Papers submitted for publication through scientific conference special issues are not eligible.

Candidates for the Prize may be nominated by the Editors of the Transactions and judged by the Editor in Chief. Papers are scored on the following criteria:
  • Expectation that the paper will be highly cited by future authors,
  • Technical excellence of the work described, and
  • Completeness of the paper as an archival record of a finished body of research.

The winners are announced in the year following the volume year in which the paper appears. Photos and biographies of the winners will be featured in the front matter of the Transactions issue containing the announcement.

The Van Duzer Prize consists of a certificate and an honorarium of $1,000, funded by the Council on Superconductivity. For papers with multiple authors, the honorarium is divided equally among the authors.

2006 Van Duzer Prize winners are:

Nicolas Hadacek,
Paul D. Dresselhaus and
Samuel P. Benz

National Institute of Standards and Technology, Boulder CO (USA)

for their paper:
“Lumped 50 Ohm Arrays of SNS Josephson Junctions”
IEEE Trans. Appl. Supercond., vol.16, no. 4, pp. 2005 - 2010, Dec. 2006

2007 Van Duzer Prize winners are:

Xiao-Fan Gou,
Hohai University, Nanjing (China)
Xiao-Jing Zheng and You-He Zhou
Lanzhou University, Lanzho (China)

for their papers:
“Drift of Levitated/Suspended Body in High-Tc Superconducting Levitation Systems Under Vibration”
Part I: “A Criterion Based on Magnetic Force-Gap
Relation for Gap Varying With Time”
IEEE Trans. Appl. Supercond., vol.17, no. 3, pp. 3795 - 3802, September 2007
Part II: “Drift Velocity for Gap Varying With Time”
IEEE Trans. Appl. Supercond., vol.17, no. 3, pp. 3803 - 3808, September 2007


Award Background

The award is named in honor of Professor Theodore Van Duzer, founding Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity. Professor Van Duzer (M'60-SM'75-F'77-LF'93) received the Ph.D. degree from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1960. He has been on the faculty of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, University of California, Berkeley, since 1961. He is co-author of two textbooks, Principles of Superconductive Devices and Circuits, and Fields and Waves in Communication Electronics, and has published widely in the research literature on superconductor electronics. His current research interests focus on Josephson devices and multi-gigahertz digital superconductor circuits, including hybrids with cryogenic semiconductor components. Dr. Van Duzer is a Life Fellow of the IEEE and a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering.



Admin Area

Web Design By: Numatek